The Katie-opedia: My Guide to Podcasts and Talk Radio.

My Podcast Rotation

My love for talk radio still burns, even though I no longer am on the road for at least an hour and a half every day. Thank goodness. Podcasts are perfect for cleaning, cooking, and even occasionally during workouts.

I currently use Stitcher as my go-to app for these podcasts but haven’t been wholly satisfied but all of the podcasts I play on a regular basis are available through Stitcher.

The Breakdown

I can break my podcasts into quiz shows (my favorite), educational, comedians interviewing interesting people, other NPR shows, food, and potpourri. Since nothing is created equal, I have rated these out of five tote bags so you have a better idea of what I would highly recommend. Obviously, as talk radio listener, the more tote bags you have, the better.

Quiz Shows

  • NPR: Ask Me Another Podcast – Broadcast from a bar in Brooklyn, this quiz show is as hipster as one can imagine. They are constantly anagramming. I enjoy the variety of games – most of which are manageable for the average bear. The guests can be so-so and they’re not afraid to poke fun at the contestants. 3 out of 5 tote bags.
  • NPR: Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me! Podcast – Definitely in my top three favorite podcasts. I’ve even seen it recorded live. It could be perceived as a bit patronizing but they’re usually laughing at themselves as opposed to others. It’s a quiz show about recent news and combines comedians, journalists, and writers. It’s quite marvelous. 5 out of 5 tote bags. 
  • Good Job, Brain – Hands down the most lovable podcast crew. They make being smart and knowing trivia feel cool. This is one podcast that I actively look forward to the new episode to be posted every week. If they ever had a meetup within 100 miles of where I am – I would be there. 5 out of 5 tote bags.

Educational

  • A Way With Words – Basically, guests call in with words and phrases with questions on their etymology or meanings. I particularly like the callers who are calling in to settle a wager. 5 out of 5 tote bags.
  • NPR: How to Do Everything Podcast – I don’t listen to this one as often as I would like. It is VERY light hearted and always an easy listen. I’m not sure they ever really tell you how to do something, but I think that’s what I like about it. They approach fan questions in some very, very creative way. 4 out of 5 tote bags.
  • 99% Invisible – This is billed as a design podcast but that’s very vague. 99% Invisible is a very quick podcast that is usually addressing architecture and why/how structures around us are the way they are. Very cool. 3 out of 5 tote bags.
  • Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing – It may not be obvious, but I do want my writing to be as painless as possible and Grammar Girl is slowly helping with that. These are truly quick, easy to understand tips. She usually breaks the tips down relevant and easy to remember examples and anecdotes, which I really appreciate. 4 out of 5 tote bags.
  • Stuff You Missed in History Class – As I get older, my interest in topics I had little interest in previously (history, science, etc.) has grown tremendously. Holly and Tracy are the hosts and they make history a pleasure to listen to. They’re like the Drunk History of podcasts, but not drunk either. 5 out of 5 tote bags. 
  • Stuff You Should Know – Each episode, Josh and Chuck take about an hour or less to thoroughly walk you through a topic. I recently listened to an episode on TV Ratings – they covered the history, how they’re used, how they’re calculated, and how they’re changing with new technology and how we watch TV nowadays. 5 out of 5 tote bags.
  • Freakonomics Podcast – From the authors, Levitt & Dubner, of the Podcast’s namesake novels, this podcast does not disappoint. Recently the podcasts have coincided with they’re new book “Think Like a Freak” which I absolutely loved – so that’s a bonus. 5 out of 5 tote bags.
  • NPR: Planet Money Podcast – I never thought there would be a money/finance podcast I actually enjoyed listening to, but this one proved me wrong. It really is like going to a bar with a money-smart friend and having a really valuable conversation that never gets preachy or judgy. 4 out of 5 tote bags.

Comedians Interviewing Interesting People

  • WTF with Marc Maron Podcast – Marc clearly works very hard on these productions and it pays off. The guests span a wide gambit and I find him strangely lovable. 4 out of 5 tote bags.
  • You Made it Weird with Pete Holmes – Probably my favorite podcast. Pete is a stellar interviewer and boy can he get people to open up. When I’m listening to his shows on a consistent basis, I feel a deeper connection with the world around me. 5 out of 5 tote bags.
  • The Adam Corolla Show – I have a deep appreciation for Adam’s ruggedness and I love Allison Rosen. It’s exactly what you would expect. 3 out of 5 tote bags.

Other NPR Shows

  • NPR: Most Emailed Stories Podcast – This a great listen for the “need to know” water cooler stories. 3 out of 5 tote bags.
  • NPR: Ted Radio Podcast – This show takes a series of related TED talks and presents them in a condensed form. They mix clips from the TED talk with concise interviews with the presenters. This is a great jumping point for finding meaningful TED talks. I find TED talks intimidating and this podcasts creates a very manageable bite. 4 out of 5 tote bags.
  • NPR Topics: Pop Culture Podcast – My go-to podcast for shows I should be watching, films I should be viewing, music I should be listening to, and books I should be reading. I’ve never been led astray. They called Iconapop’s “I Love It” more than six months before it hit the radios. 4 out of 5 tote bags.

Food

  • The Alton Browncast – Alton rocks. And this podcast has rocked. And there hasn’t been a new one since the end of June – points of for being so sporadic. 2 out of 5 tote bags.
  • The Splendid Table – The best food podcast, in my opinion. I’m not a crazy foodie or a gourmet chef and this podcast inspires and empowers me in the kitchen. 4 out of 5 tote bags.

Potpourri

  • Slate Magazine Daily Podcast – Slate offers up a variety of shows and I’m pleasantly surprised about the consistent quality across all of the shows. These shows include Gist (kind of political/law), Mom and Dad are Fighting (a parenting podcast that’s a great listen for even non-parents), Political (political), Money (self-explanatory), Audio Book Club, Techno (technology, not terrible music), Hang Up (sports), and Double X (lady news). 4 out of 5 tote bags.
  • The Official Waiting for Next Year Podcast – This is the only sports-cast I listen to and of course it is mostly Cleveland-centric, but not always. It keeps getting better and better. 3 out of 5 tote bags.
  • Savage Podcast – Dan Savage used to be on the radio but his explicit content is much better suited for the podcast audience. I don’t listen to this one often, but it is very ear-opening to listen to him troubleshoot sex and relationship issues that I didn’t even know people could have. I have a deep appreciation for his open-mindedness and no bullshit approach to his advice. 4 out of 5 tote bags.

Have I missed any gems??

4 responses to “The Katie-opedia: My Guide to Podcasts and Talk Radio.”

  1. Great list! I will have to check some out. I just recently discovered listening to podcasts while working out makes it more enjoyable than music!
    I love the Joy the Baker podcast, and the others from Homefries.com. Funny, random stuff.

    Like

  2. Hey girly, I listen to podcasts all day as well and you mentioned that you love Alison Rosen. Are you listening to her podcast (new episodes on Mondays and Thursdays)? If not, it’s a good one to get into. Thanks for your list, now I have some newbies to add for my listening pleasure 🙂

    Like

    1. Funny you should mention that…as I was writing the post, I remembered Alison mentioning her podcast and sure enough, it’s on Stitcher, just listened for the first time and I loved it! I also love that it’s twice a week!!

      Like

  3. Thanks for including “A Way with Words”! Glad you enjoy it. And thanks for the recommendations. There are a couple here I haven’t heard of, such as “Good Job, Brain.” Off to add them to my podcast program…

    Like

Leave a comment